Potions and Snitches
Snape and Harry Gen Fanfiction Archive

Title: Black 18 Oct 2014 11:42 am
Reviewer: crotia (Signed) [Report This]
    wow, that is really well thought through.
    Good job!
Title: Black 16 Oct 2014 10:23 pm
Reviewer: Kai (Anonymous) [Report This]
    I have read your comments about your reasons for Minerva's language - and I guess I can understand your reasoning. My mother sadly has Dementia and now sometimes uses language I know she would never have used previously.It likewise "jarrs" on our ears - it just isn't my mum anymore. I still don't like reading it but I can understand why you used it and it is authentic when read with that understanding. I do appreciate your work though and check most days to see if an update is available. I love the stories you have written so much and am especially hoping there will soon be an update on "Severus' Dreams" - so poignant and sad and sweet and hopeful. Thank you for explaining your reasoning and for providing such a beautiful "escape-world" - I remain a huge fan!!
Title: Black 08 Oct 2014 5:30 pm
Reviewer: sea-kingdom (Anonymous) [Report This]
    wow
    this is fantastic
    there are plenty of stories with similar plots, but this one is definitely the best
    it's very detailed and accurate (or as accurate as a magical story can be) and all the interactions are very believable
    i really, really love it
    it's truly fantastic - portraying suicide very realistically, with long recovery and variety of methods, and planning it//doing it on an impulse, and how it affects everyone around you, and how people react to it etc.
    all of it is just very enlightening.
    and the potion that allows purebloods to have their heirs is a great idea - explaining it far more than just a 'life-long glamour' or something
    it's great
Title: Black 16 Sep 2014 3:01 pm
Reviewer: Kai (Anonymous) [Report This]
    I absolutely love your writing and was so excited to see a new update (although would be even more delighted to have a update to Severus' dreams - but I have to indignantly speak out as a Scottish lady. No Scottish teacher would ever speak as Minerva did in this chapter - it just isn't believable. The language she used just jarrs in an otherwise fabulous piece of work.
    I hope you don't mind the critism but I usually can very definitely hear your characters and their language is accurately portrayed - this really isn't right no matter how provoked she is. So glad to see you writing though.

    Author's Response:

    Minerva really is experiencing effects that are stroke-like and neurology is weird.

    For some really interesting reads on weird neurological things you should read Oliver Sacks. His book "The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat" talks about different types of aphasia.

    Some of the effects Minerva is experiencing come from those accounts.

    The use of unusual-for-the-patient slang only when she gets angry is well documented. It happens (to put it simply) because the emotional/less verbal part of her brain is the part least damaged. When she gets hijacked by her emotions, the words available to her are the words most emotionally charged. So, she might even be using student slang that annoys her, f'r instance. Not because she'd ever *normally* use them, but because the words are emotionally charged and thus available.

    My aunt actually had just this sort of aphasia after a stroke. She would get angry and use Welsh words and curse (which she never did before). We could never actually tell if she was having us on or not--sometimes we'd swear she was using it a license to say things that would normally be politely kept in one's head.


    Curiously, she picked up words she never used when she was younger, or she used nonsense words that sounded like they had meaning in context. Her doctor actually told my cousin that perhaps the old woman should go to a home where there were more native Welsh speakers. Her accent was Pure North Wales (he said) and given her use of Welsh words when English words failed her, obviously she needed to be among people who had less trouble understanding her.

    Except that she was from Newport (South Wales) and was a native English speaker. Her accent only sounded "North Wales" because the damage from the stroke actually changed the way she heard and pronounced things. It is also not uncommon for people with word finding problems to use unusual (for them) wordage to substitute the meaning.

    The accent might be colloqial OR it might actually be a symptom of her health problems.

    That sweetness and light act? Same thing...she can feel herself about to blurt out something inappropriate, so she goes into acting like Molly to get a handle on it. The actions of a strong woman trying to keep it together for the next half hour. You see it in dementia patients in the early stages sometimes.

    I appreciate the feedback and hope this explains some of the OTC.
Title: Black 15 Sep 2014 2:45 pm
Reviewer: Ann Jinn (Signed) [Report This]
    I love Minerva and it is to bad Dumbldore is not taking her seriously.

    Severus has grown up - a lot and so has Sirius.
Title: Black 13 Sep 2014 12:50 am
Reviewer: Jaylen (Anonymous) [Report This]
    Well, I loved the way you wrote the chapter. Responsible Sirius and Severus was done really well! Great chapter. Loving the story.
Title: Black 12 Sep 2014 7:38 pm
Reviewer: crazychick84 (Signed) [Report This]
    Great to see an update :)
Title: Black 11 Sep 2014 11:19 pm
Reviewer: Fmh (Signed) [Report This]
    Very OOC with Sirius but very well done. Thank you another excellent chapter!
Title: Black 11 Sep 2014 5:00 pm
Reviewer: snarky Beth (Signed) [Report This]
    Well that meeting didn't go down like any of us expected, did it? lol. I really like the turn of events and I hope Severus and Sirius can work together to help Harry.
Title: Black 11 Sep 2014 10:30 am
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous) [Report This]
    This story is such a beautiful piece of work. I am so thankful for an update! Wonderful as always...
Title: Black 10 Sep 2014 8:45 am
Reviewer: TheDivinationClassroom (Signed) [Report This]
    Woo! New Chapter :) Very interesting depiction of the dead, and lovely character development
Title: Black 09 Sep 2014 2:24 pm
Reviewer: Lea (Anonymous) [Report This]
    You wrote Responsible!Sirius very well. Although Sirius is within it a little more OOC than mostly, but still I like the outcome of their conversation very much :)

    I hope, that next chapter will be updated faster.. and their come up with responsible plan of Sirius being part of Harry's life.
    And I hope for more Harry & Severus interactions next chapter.

Disclaimer Charm: Harry Potter and all related works including movie stills belong to J.K. Rowling, Scholastic, Warner Bros, and Bloomsbury. Used without permission. No copyright infringement is intended. No money is being made off of this site. All fanfiction and fanart are the property of the individual writers and artists represented on this site and do not represent the views and opinions of the Webmistress.

Powered by eFiction 3.3