Potions and Snitches
Snape and Harry Gen Fanfiction Archive

Title: Checkmate 19 May 2014 12:53 pm
Reviewer: Bananna (Anonymous) [Report This]
    I just reread your story and found it to be just as wonerful and exciting as the first time. I really hope you finish it! It would be a shame not to...
Title: Checkmate 26 Jan 2014 5:00 am
Reviewer: sammyreadsalot101 (Signed) [Report This]
    So can't wait for another chapter. I need to know what happens next! Love the way that you have developed the Harry/Severus relationship. It is so unlike all other stories that i have read thus far. It is so realistic. I never thought that there would be an easy acceptance of their relationship and that they would have to really fight for it as well as continue to live their lives in the way that would insure their survival. I honestly don't read stories that aren't finished because it drives me crazy that i have no idea what is happening. But your is one of the select few that will keep me going this semester and i will look forward to all of your updates.
Title: Checkmate 12 Jan 2014 8:44 pm
Reviewer: victory4sev (Anonymous) [Report This]
    This is an awesome book!!!!!!!! Please please please please update soon!!!!!
Title: An Unexpected Warning 15 Sep 2013 9:10 am
Reviewer: JAWorley (Signed) [Report This]
    Malfoys dialogue seemed stilted and unrealistic for his age and character. Otherwise this is good so far.
Title: Checkmate 18 Jul 2013 9:55 pm
Reviewer: Fmh (Signed) [Report This]
    Loved it very good pace thank you
Title: Checkmate 13 Jul 2013 5:00 pm
Reviewer: Pandora (Signed) [Report This]
    Refresh my memory. What happened to Harry's map? Does Snape have it? Did he confiscate it at some point? Can't remember.

    Well, this is getting very tricky now, isn't it? I am very worried for Harry AND Snape. After all, Lucius already kidnapped Harry once from the school and brought him to Voldie; what's to stop him from doing it again? And now, Lucius would have father AND son to serve to voldie on a silver platter, and be in his good graces even more.

    Aw, I love Snape and his snark and wit! lol Harry does sure know how to push his buttons though, but it makes it that much more fun to watch them interact. lol

    Great job as usual and I'm looking forward to seeing how Draco solves this dilemma.
Title: Checkmate 13 Jul 2013 3:18 pm
Reviewer: Slegend (Signed) [Report This]
    Was a great chapter as the plot is building to a climax........

    As always though, love seeing Severus and Harry spending time together....good or bad! LOL

    Really enjoyed!
Title: Valediction 09 Jul 2013 2:28 am
Reviewer: bridgeportfox (Signed) [Report This]
    Severus was out of line when he mistreated Harry but Harry had been pushing his buttons ever since they arrived at the house. It was a matter of time before he snapped. Too bad that he didn't just give Harry a lecture and then go blow something up to let off steam. Unlike Dumbledore, I don't see Harry as entirely blameless here.
Title: Divergence 09 Jul 2013 1:52 am
Reviewer: bridgeportfox (Signed) [Report This]
    I thought Ginny got rather carried away. Severus hadn't insulted her family and may not have even intended to. Since it sounded like there may have been a dangerous situation at the Weasley's home, it was logical that Severus would want to floo rather than Ginny. Severus didn't handle it particularly well but he isn't a people person which they are all aware of. And Harry was over the top with his remark.
Title: A Final Solution 30 Jun 2013 3:08 am
Reviewer: bridgeportfox (Signed) [Report This]
    It sounds like Dumbledore is working his way up to telling Snape that he is Harry's father. They both reacted so strongly to the hand clasp that they should be ready to hear it.
Title: Carry You 30 Jun 2013 1:33 am
Reviewer: bridgeportfox (Signed) [Report This]
    I'm surprised the Death Eaters are that close to Hogwarts. Though Malfoy probably wouldn't have been able to carry Harry too far in his animagus form so I suppose they would have had to be nearby to capture him. I'm also surprised that Snape didn't use a featherlight charm on Harry since he had to carry him so far. Perhaps the spell would be dangerous in Harry's condition?

    Author's Response:

    I'm sorry it has taken me some time to answer this. I wrote a huge long response the other night and then my crappy computer deleted it and I got too discouraged to do it again. Here's my second attempt. 

     

    First of all, I would like to say thank you for the reviews! I love hearing from someone who is going through the whole story, especially for the first time. It really helps me to get a sense of where the reader has been and where I would like to take the reader with future chapters. Also, I know it takes a lot of effort to review every chapter, so I really appreciate that you would take the time to do so. I truly hope that I will continue to hear from you.

    I am going to do my best to answer the questions that pertain to my intentions for writing something. There are some questions that I may not address because it is best for the story to reveal the answers as you go along. I have been asked about the Death Eaters' proximity to Hogwarts numerous times so I felt like I should explain my thinking at the time that I wrote this.

    Bear in mind that the first 15 chapters of this story were written about 8 years ago, when I was about 15 years old. I was not as cynical as I am now, so it is possible that there are some events which require the suspension of disbelief. Believe me when I say that I put a lot of thought into everything, however, and tried to make it as realistic as possible... and also that I feel that the last half of the story is monumentally better than the first half (although some people argue with me on that point, haha, that the first part of the story is half of its charm). I hope you'll enjoy the work as a whole.

    Thanks for listening to my rambling. Now, on to my explanation.

    I believe that at the time of writing this story, I felt that it was entirely plausible that Voldemort would have a den of Death Eaters located close to Hogwarts. In my mind, it would have made it easier for Severus to travel to and from Hogwarts, and would have been located there intentionally with the purpose of gaining access to Harry Potter. You see, at the time when I wrote this, book 5 had just been released. The first four books contained numerous instances of Voldemort finding ways to Harry Potter that almost made you smack your head in disbelief that someone so wise as Dumbledore could have overlooked such obvious breaches in security. Year 1, Voldemort was stuck to the back of one of the Professor's heads and devouring Unicorn blood in the Forbidden Forest. What? Dumbledore, seriously? Year 2, a basilisk from a hidden chamber under the girl's lavatory was sneaking around the school and Tom Riddle was possessing one of the students. Huh? Year 3, Sirus Black somehow managed to infiltrate the school despite the heightened security, and then Harry was dragged through a secret passage under the Whomping Willow to a shack nearby, where the Pettigrew fiasco unfolded. Year 4, a Death Eater infiltrates the school disguised as a new professor, and the Triwizard Tournament is hijacked as a way to get Harry Potter to Voldemort. I think you see where I am going with this. In my mind, it seemed totally logical that the Death Eaters would now be lurking near the school, waiting and watching for yet another opportunity to get ahold of Harry Potter. 

    Now, similarly, I think it seemed logical to me that Snape would not use too much magic in trying to get Harry Potter away from the school, because that seems like risky behavior that could lead Voldemort straight to them. And also, yes, Harry was beat up pretty badly and it might be unwise to use magic to move him. 

    I hope that this somewhat answers your questions. Also, I hope that you will enjoy the rest of the story and perservere till the end! I'd love to hear your thoughts along the way. 

    Thanks for reading! 

    ~G 

Title: The Weight of the World 30 Jun 2013 1:25 am
Reviewer: bridgeportfox (Signed) [Report This]
    I'm impressed with the plan so far. Hopefully Kingsley won't be punished in Severus' place for letting Potter escape. It sounds like the only way to get Harry out though.

Disclaimer Charm: Harry Potter and all related works including movie stills belong to J.K. Rowling, Scholastic, Warner Bros, and Bloomsbury. Used without permission. No copyright infringement is intended. No money is being made off of this site. All fanfiction and fanart are the property of the individual writers and artists represented on this site and do not represent the views and opinions of the Webmistress.

Powered by eFiction 3.3